BMC Racing Team (USA)

BMC Racing Team (USA)

The BMC Racing Team is a United States-registered UCI ProTeam title sponsored by Switzerland-based bicycle manufacturer BMC. Consistently ranked among the top 10 teams in the world, its roster includes reigning world road champion Philippe Gilbert, reigning Swiss national road champion Martin Kohler, current Danish national road champion Sebastian Lander, and seven 2012 Olympians including 2011 Tour de France winner and past (2009) world champion Cadel Evans and 2012 Tour de France best young rider and 2013 Tour of California winner Tejay van Garderen. Two other former world road champions, Alessandro Ballan (2008) and Thor Hushovd (2010), headline the squad that also includes past national time trial champions Taylor Phinney (United States) and Marco Pinotti (Italy). In 2012, the team won 21 races, including two stages of the Giro d’Italia and three in the Vuelta a España and placed two riders (van Garderen and Evans) in the top 10 at the Tour de France. The BMC Racing Team was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Santa Rosa, Calif. Phinney, a cycling prodigy and son of cyclists Davis Phinney and Connie Carpenter Phinney, placed 4th in both the time trial and road, a remarkable result for the 22-year-old.

2013 Victories

  • Tour of California – Teams Classification, 1st Stage 6, 1st Overall
  • Tour de Romandie – KOM Classification
  • Giro del Trentino – 1st Stage 3 Critérium International – Best Young Rider Classification
  • Tour du Haut Var – Sprint Classification and 1st Stage 1
  • Tour of Oman – Teams Classification
  • Tour of Qatar – 1st Stage 1 and 2, Best Young Rider, Teams Classification
  • Tour de San Luis – Teams Classification

Team Riders

Ben Hermans
Brent Bookwalter
Martin Kohler
Michael Schär
Peter Stetina
Tejay van Garderen
Yannick Eijssen


Learn Speed and Safety Lessons from the World’s Top Sprinters

Read More